Happy Canada Day

1 Jul

This Daylily flower blossomed just in time for the Canada Day celebration and will wither out to tonight  like the evening fireworks festivities and should become the first member of my dried golden needles collection for 2012 to be enjoyed in soups this winter.

As you can see there are many buds preparing for their day of glory to come soon. Daylilies are native to Eurasia and the fresh buds are also edible though I recommend you check out Green Deane (Eat the weeds) website before you try any of the edible parts of our North American daylilies for the first time.

Here is a daylily flower stalk with an interesting guest climbing it, you will need to click on twice to have a good look at this plants twining nature, this  is a native plant that many folks in North America have been gratefully eating this member of the pea family’s potato like tubers for at least 15,000 years, so that means about 15,000 years before there was a country called Canada or even a word day that meant day. To commemorate this historic sustainer here at my house once this plants lovely flowers bloom, I will then celebrate Apios americana Day, also known as groundnut and hopniss. Lots of reasons to celebrate right here, where ever you are. Have a great Daylily with lots of hopniss. ciao

5 Responses to “Happy Canada Day”

  1. mobius faith July 1, 2012 at 8:00 am #

    I’ve heard these are edible and there are several varieties the are plentiful on my daily bike rides. I’ll have to learn more about them first – but if edible raw they would make some nice snacking on my longer bike rides.

    • 1left July 1, 2012 at 9:00 am #

      Daylily flowers and buds are edible raw on the original daylily and only some of the Hermerocallis cultivars. This is a plant I’m just beginning to experiment with and I have started nibbling small samples from plants I expect were planted long ago say in the 1960s or before, mostly orange flowered plants found at long abandon farmyards and homes. So eating the new cultivars offers a risk of a possible upset stomach as was experienced by most the folks in a foraging research group from Michigan recently.
      Small samples from the plain orange flowered plant is the way to start.
      You can stuff the flowers and cook them as well once you become comfortable with a patch of plants that has proven safe. The whole original Eurasian daylily plant is edible, tubers, leaves, buds, flowers, but things started to change in the cultivars in the last few decades.

      • mobius faith July 1, 2012 at 9:03 am #

        Excellent thanks for the info. We have tons of the plain orange flowered variety. I look forward to giving them a try. 🙂 Have a great weekend my friend.

  2. Jeremy DuCheny July 2, 2012 at 8:06 am #

    I’ve eaten the buds and the tubers with no ill affects. Of course my plants were orange-flowered, but I’ve never heard that some cultivars were problematic. Do you have a link to the Michigan study?

    • 1left July 2, 2012 at 1:45 pm #

      Jeremy, I can’t even find the sites that referred to the Michigan foraging group who experienced the troubles, it has been quite a few months since I did my own internet Daylily research so the info is only a recollection. In todays search I see some talk of potential difficulties and talk of 5% of the folks possibly allergic to daylilies, a nauseous after taste of a yellow flowered Daylilies which may make some folks squeamish for awhile, but nothing concrete as far as human poisoning, There seems to be more info on other animals being poisoned by Daylilies than documented cases related to humans. Due to all the talk over the years, Daylilies (hemerocallis fulva) is one of the last local wild edibles for me to totally sink my teeth into from tuber to flower, but I’m getting there and a new delicious looking post I seen today
      ( honest-food.net/2010/06/29/d ) is encouraging.

Leave a Reply

