Not all they’re cracked up to be

30 Jun

The folks on my street should back me up on this one, I do not mow the lawn very often, but today I gave it a whirl. What my neighbors don’t know and I hope you’ll keep my secret is, I avoided cutting the so-called weeds in the sidewalk cracks.

This is a bit of an eye test so you may choose to click on to enlarge the photos, but in this one shot we have from left to right (1) yellow wood sorrel, (2) dandelion greens, (3)  plantain, (4) pineapple weed and (5) sheperd’s purse, so a nice group of edible and medicinal plants which I won’t recommend you using from a site this close to a street, but these are potential collecting locations for seeds to be grown inside or in gardens or wild gardens.

Here are the same plants from a different angle. Sidewalks and gravelly train tracks have been generous providers of plant seeds from plants that are rare this far north such as milkweed and purslane. So I think I’ll collect some yellow sorrel and pineapple weed from a patch I have at the edge of my garden, which I didn’t mow today as well and try them combined in an ice tea as it’s 90 plus here. Wishing you a very weedy weekend. ciao

6 Responses to “Not all they’re cracked up to be”

  1. life in relation to art July 1, 2012 at 5:37 pm #

    And they are beautiful too! Nice composition from an artist’s perspective:) Thanks for sharing.

  2. weedimageoftheday July 20, 2012 at 11:53 pm #

    Wonderful! I am so happy to have discovered this post! I love that you have identified these plants. I’ve been photographing and writing stories about weeds for a bit of time now, but one area I find needs research time is the identification. Thanks again!!!!

    • 1left July 21, 2012 at 12:17 am #

      Thanks for stopping by and also thanks for sharing your amazing weed photos, truly beautiful shots indeed.

      • weedimageoftheday July 21, 2012 at 2:05 am #

        Thank you, so much.

  3. Jay August 1, 2012 at 5:47 pm #

    Lovely. Like jungle reclaiming ancient civilizations, only on small scale.

    • 1left August 1, 2012 at 7:04 pm #

      I like that one, thanks Jay

Leave a Reply

