Goshawk and Hobblebush

6 May

This is the first time I came face to face with the gray ghost. I have heard their wings on a few occasions but never actually seen one well enough to identify it as a Northern Goshawk. This one in these photos definately wanted me to see and hear her as she closely swooped & chattered at me several times in guiding me away from her nest. I didn’t get any photos of her swooping as a goshawk will attack you, so fiddling with a camera during her flights didn’t seem like a good idea.

This young hobblebush (Viburnum alnifolium) also caught my attention.

On this trip the big one didn’t get away, this is an old cod liver oil bottle I found today, click on the photo to see closer his catch.

ciao for now

2 Responses to “Goshawk and Hobblebush”

  1. mobius faith May 6, 2012 at 3:54 pm #

    How cool that you have a Goshawk for neighbor. And that Cod Liver bottle looks like it contains a foetus or something that might belong in a carnival side-show. (in short – very very cool).

    I love the title of your post today also. Makes me think of maybe a movie or British sitcom – “The Adventures of Goshawk and Hobblebush.” 🙂

    • 1left May 6, 2012 at 7:26 pm #

      Thanks mobius, I have the CLO bottle on my desk, the contents have settle down a bite and it now resembles a Canadian animated TV character named Franklin the turtle. Many folks in the 50 plus range can still remember being lovingly given a spoonfull of CLO, truly unforgettable. Maybe one of those children through this bottle in the woods around 1965, it wasn’t me though. ciao

Leave a Reply

