Foggy foraging

1 Sep

DSC07296

This is my favorite forest for tree burls with several hundred mature conifers with impressive burls, on this foggy holiday some like this one provide quite an atmosphere to wander amongst.

DSC07287

Since I’ve never gathered the White Matsutake mushroom this early in Sept or in this area this leaves me to suspect this must be my first sighting of a Catathelasma ventricosum mushroom this year.

DSC07288

Yup, this is what we call in NA the Swollen Stalked Cat which is a good edible and is becoming more popular here in the west, though it has a long history of being used as a healthy food in areas like Tibet. Here it is often used in stews, soups, it can also be BBQ’ed and pickled. This one smells like cucumber.

DSC07297

Oh, nearing a brook I see a shrub I often forget about in the fog of the busy mushroom season, though this is an ideal time to gather the ripe firm fruit of Highbush cranberries which can be frozen and then thawed to make it easier to obtain the juice by pressing raw. I chewed and sucked on a few of the crunchy berries and then removed the large seed from my mouth, these are tart and refreshing and vitamin C rich. Well I’ve shared enough interesting stuff for today. ciao

2 Responses to “Foggy foraging”

  1. Jody September 23, 2017 at 12:21 pm #

    Can you tell me where I could find some to pick? We had some beside house, but they died when ditches were dug this summer…will go between Saint John and Sussex to find…thanks

    • 1left September 23, 2017 at 8:18 pm #

      I haven’t foraged in that area, thought I would check out any Brooks leading into the larger rivers. Also edges of woods, they are quite noticeable and do turn up in unexpected places often so keep your eyes open this fall.

Leave a Reply

