It’s mine 1left

26 Sep

DSC06282

Preparing some things for the N.S Mycological Society foray which starts tomorrow night and I though I should take a break to show you a couple more fall wild mushrooms I noticed today.  Above we see a large Cortinarius caperatus (Gypsy mushroom) and what I thought at first was an earthworm until I seen its eyes. I sent the photo to Nelson Poirier in Moncton and he ID’ed the little one as a Red back salamander.

DSC06278

Here is another choice fall edible mushroom just starting to make an appearance for this year, (Bear’s head tooth) Hericium americanum. I won’t be posting anything for a while, have a pleasant weekend. ciao

One Response to “It’s mine 1left”

  1. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words September 26, 2013 at 11:11 pm #

    you have a wonderful weekend yourself….
    I didn’t know there was a red back Salamander…(we have them here but not red back)
    somehow your Gypsy mushrooms seems to make a perfect pairing with it…
    Take Care…You Matter…
    )0(
    maryrose

Leave a Reply

