Archive | 9:32 pm

Look up Chaga

15 Sep

DSC06170

Looking ahead this may be the Chaga mushroom I collect in 2015 if things go well, the tree is still sturdy and producing plenty of leaves.

DSC06139

Now for today my Chaga supply is low and the Chaga mushroom on the right side of this tree looks big enough to supply me with tea for a year or so.

DSC06140

Chaga close up.

DSC06142

Here is part of what I’m talking about when I say — look up Chaga. You want to select a birch tree which is still healthy and able to produce leaves so here we are beneath the Chaga horn looking up the birch trunk in search for branches with leaves which are nicely in place on this tree.

DSC06145

One of the easiest way to remove your Chaga from the birch tree is with a hatch, I have an oldie here from the 1950s.

DSC06178

The best time to slice your freshly gathered Chaga is shortly after you bring it home, a heavy duty knife will glide through the Chaga much easier at this point then in a few days.

DSC06176

Some of the pieces in this one are quite marbled.

DSC06143

Here is a Chaga mushroom video I recommend for you by Arthur Haines, check it out. ciao  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=liMo7Q_U-YA