At the Coral of knowing

27 Aug

DSC06017

Most years I see a few varieties of small white corals in the woods though tonight I visited a new road 10 miles from my home and found a few new and also somewhat rare mushrooms for my area. These corals are ones I can’t identify with out some help.

DSC06015

You can see in this photo a younger version of the large coral mushroom with red tips which suggest to me these could be Ramaria botrytis though I will need this verified to be certain. Another interesting mushroom is in the center of the photo Oudemansiella radicata which is also known as Xerula furfuracea, but tonight I call it delicious as I had to try the large brown cap as the stems are too tough to eat, I’ve read in Europe this mushroom is rated high and I can taste why, notice the long stem which extends into an even longer root on the smaller mushroom above the brown cap. Also in the photo we see on the ends Lobster mushrooms with a Charcoal burner left of center.

DSC06014

Another look at these large corals.

DSC06021

Now into the basket, another somewhat unusually to my area at least, a Russula with a green cap, I didn’t notice this mushroom till after I stepped on him though I may send this one away for identification as well.

DSC06024

Here is a large coral which weighed around a pound and now needs to be sliced.

DSC06027

The jury is still out on the edibility of this species it will have to await the verdict in a dried state in the pantry. I’m always amazed at how little the mind knows about self and surroundings. ciao

4 Responses to “At the Coral of knowing”

  1. Isaac Yuen August 27, 2013 at 1:24 am #

    Amazing, I’ve never seen mushrooms that resemble corals before. Striking and hopefully delicious!

    • 1left August 27, 2013 at 1:40 am #

      They are quite a sight and this may be one of the choicer corals if it is Ramaria botrytis, I’ll dry some to try later on if the ID is correct. Thanks for stopping by Isaac

  2. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words August 27, 2013 at 2:20 am #

    it looked like you had been diving instead of forging !
    what beautiful ones you have there….
    Thank you for sharing..
    Take Care…
    )0(
    maryrose

    • 1left August 27, 2013 at 9:24 am #

      thanks maryrose, going with the flow of things for sure.

Leave a Reply

