Sunny side up

12 Jun

DSC05552

A skate egg, I often see the dried-out black skate egg cases on the shore line, this green one with a yolk similar to a hen’s egg was an interesting surprise.

IMG_0179

Skate egg  amongst some local previously owned  mobile homes.

DSC05550

A big maritime wave to you.

DSC05544

I think they’re done, there was a lobster cannery around Cape Jourimain many years ago and this was its boiler, I suspected this was something of a train at first glance.

DSC05535

A Lighthouse out on the point, lots of interesting plants around the beach and salt marsh areas which I’ll do a post or 2 on later.

DSC05539

A closer look at the lighthouse, it was a pleasant time in the light rain. ciao

7 Responses to “Sunny side up”

  1. mobius faith June 12, 2013 at 8:36 pm #

    This was a completely new one for me. Never heard of “skate eggs” before. Fascinating. Like some alien life form.

    • 1left June 12, 2013 at 9:01 pm #

      mobius, the egg case befits the Skate well with their long tails and wide wings, when in an upright position they resemble kites flying in the ocean.

      • mobius faith June 12, 2013 at 9:45 pm #

        What an amazing sight that must be. Thanks for sharing and teaching me something new.

  2. ediblethings June 13, 2013 at 3:38 pm #

    I’ve never seen them full of yolk before. Do you also call them the Mermaid’s Purse?

    • 1left June 13, 2013 at 7:33 pm #

      Mermaid’s purse seems to be the most common name I’ve seen in my web searches for info here on the east coast of N.A. A few other names mentioned are devil’s purse, devil’s pocketbook and sailor’s pocketbook..
      My search for similar green egg cases with yolks didn’t turn up any photos, though I did see some interesting egg cases fitted with a small windows to watch the development of small skate egg cases which were being viewed in an aquarium, though the photos they showed were of the eggs of young skates near the hatching stage.

  3. theforagingphotographer June 14, 2013 at 8:12 pm #

    Is that your reflection visible in the egg case? Very cool shot.

    • 1left June 14, 2013 at 8:32 pm #

      Yes that’s my reflection, I was surprised to see I somewhat resemble my gravatar in this egg case mirror.

Leave a Reply

