Up on the roof

30 Oct

A few photos of wild oyster mushrooms I recently gathered from sugar maple trees.

The oyster mushrooms which appear in the fall in eastern Canada have a much darker cap color than the spring oyster mushroom which grows on poplar trees 4 or 5 months earlier. I have an example of some spring oyster mushrooms on a tree trunk in my (image page) if your interested in checking them out.

Cutting the mushrooms flush at the tree trunk you could not notice the starting point of the separate mushrooms, here in the above photo I have sliced a few inches closer to the caps which shows the stems beginnings, a clear view of nature naturally doing its thing. ciao

3 Responses to “Up on the roof”

  1. mobius faith October 30, 2012 at 9:02 pm #

    Really cool cluster. You know you got “mad skills” when you can grow these on your car roof. 🙂

    • 1left October 30, 2012 at 9:53 pm #

      good one mobius, with many small holes drilled in car roofs and an underlying space for mycelium someday you may see people’s car driving by with funky fungus hairdos, similar to a giant chia pet. he he

  2. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words November 3, 2012 at 4:29 pm #

    I like the cluster….I took a picture the other day of
    a mushroom I hadn’t seen before….I was looking for your email to send it
    but with working so much I lost track of time…
    I will stop in Monday,(I actually have a day off)
    Thanks 1Left….I always enjoy what you share…and learn something new…
    Take Care…
    )0(
    ladyblue

Leave a Reply

