Spring flowers, fruits and fungus

18 Apr

Flowers first—Trailing Arbutus (Epigaea repens)-smells like Avon’s calling

Here is a patch of Trailing Arbutus leaves, the flowers in this shady area won’t be in bloom for a few weeks.

A week ago I mentioned Teaberry  was the only northern fruit I knew that ripened in the spring, well I figured out tonight Partridgeberry (Mitchella repens) also overwinters as an immature fruit  and then ripens in the spring. Partridgeberry has some medicinal properties. So here is partridgeberry my (how did I not already know this) of the day.

And Teaberry (Gaultheria procumbens) wintergreen flavored leaves and berries.

These Red-belt polypore’s bright color stood out from a far distance, another pleasant evening with a few woodpeckers creating the background music in this new area for me of mid to young birch and poplar trees.

Red-belt polypore appears to have some impressive medicinal properties which actually have been utilized by man for a few thousand years and is once again gathering renewed attention.

Another nice Phellinus

ciao for now

4 Responses to “Spring flowers, fruits and fungus”

  1. mobius faith April 19, 2012 at 8:33 am #

    Very cool. I’ll have to check out the Teaberry. Again, I learned something new from you. Keep up the great work.

    • 1left April 19, 2012 at 7:44 pm #

      Thanks mobius, Teaberry fruit is a great trailside nibble and I recommend Euell Gibbon’s (teaberry) wintergreen tea recipe from (stalking the healthful herbs), it warms the inners.

  2. Jeremy April 19, 2012 at 5:24 pm #

    Very nice pictures, 1left. I think it’s the first time I’ve ever seen the flowers of trailing arbutus. They look really interesting. I don’t think I have ever seen it in wild places around here, though we do have partridgeberry (we call it squaw vine) and teaberry (we call it wintergreen).

    • 1left April 19, 2012 at 7:10 pm #

      Thanks Jeremy, in my area Teaberry is often found near Trailing Arbutus and is especially common in Jackpine areas. I read that in the Great Lakes region Trailing Arbutus are occasionally found under Oaks and the key factor is very acidic forest soil (under 5 ph) with a thin layer of moss and lichens. The flowers are often tucked under the leaves, so if you are interested in this plant, closely checkout the leaves. I think the north and also the western parts of Michigan are the best bets to find them, though I’ve seen the word elusive associated with Trailing Arbutus in your area.

Leave a Reply

