The yard will never be the same

23 Mar

The yard, always in transition though not one atom ever separated from true nature. All in one.

wild rose,  vitamin C rich rose hips, ripe seeds, rested roots will soon spring new growth on these stems.

Live forever or Orpine, this plant’s leaves are a good salad green from May through August when growing in shady river intervals, these ones are tiny once you notice the maple seed in this photo, these resemble miniature cabbage, they are located near our patio.

Stinging Nettle, covered by some silver maple leaves in my indicator garden, nettles seem to make every one around them a little healthier.

Caraway, is a very self sufficient character around here, it is our rabbits favorite treat next to raisins.

Sweet cicely, also does very well. I’m adding 2 photos to my (image page) tonight, if you like colorful mushrooms check them out they are called Blewit (Lepista nuda) and I’ve introduced them to my indicator garden last fall, so they may appear here next Oct.

You all come back now you here.

10 Responses to “The yard will never be the same”

  1. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words March 23, 2012 at 8:59 pm #

    I was out wandering trying to identify two flowers i hadn’t seen before and thought of your always fun blog…
    I was trying to identify the maple seed but couldn’t….I guess i don’t know what they look like
    though I took cuttings from a Japenses Maple this afternoon, the Waterfall one…beautiful…
    I saw my beans were climbing up the iron palm tree( i add yard art that is functional LOls)
    so tomorrow i will do cucumbers and okra….

    I do have some strange looking mushrooms, if they are still there tomorrow i will take pictures…
    Thanks for always teaching me something and making me smile..a great combination!
    )0(
    maryrose

    • 1left March 23, 2012 at 9:59 pm #

      Thanks maryrose, the maple seed is in the top central area, actually there are 2 there, 1 vertical and 1 horizontal, they look like wings or little worn out propeller arms and when they leave the trees they can travel quite a distance as they spin in the wind away from the tree. Soon I’m going to open up an email address so folks can send in photos for identification, I would really enjoy seeing the little things that appear in peoples yards, sidewalks, etc you know the everday stuff that is uniquely ordinary, these things really interest my senses.

      • LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words March 23, 2012 at 10:24 pm #

        oh the seeds are like my maples, I think its BloodGood? not exactly sure …
        we’re really to hot here in Texas for them, but I always pretend I am going to bonsia them and them after awhile i always think they need a bigger pot… I love the maples….
        that would be a great ideal, ! to identify for us…
        let me know okay! I have 2-1.2 acreas, i tend to be native, natural wild gardening LOls..as well as I create faerie habitats and their houses…
        Thanks I really appreciate what you teach here…I learn something every time I click on!
        Take Care…
        )0(
        thanks

  2. mobius faith March 23, 2012 at 9:01 pm #

    I’ll be baaaaack!

  3. Jeremy March 23, 2012 at 10:54 pm #

    I’ve never heard of Orpine. This is certainly a plant that I’ll look into. Just from looking at a few sites online, it seems like it’s a very versatile plant, one that grows well just about anywhere. By the way, thanks for your site. It’s wonderfully done. I’ve just read the whole of it and enjoyed it tremendously.

    • 1left March 24, 2012 at 8:41 am #

      Thanks Jeremy, Yes (Live forever/ Orpine) will be in many enviroments, tasting different in each, you will find some excellent ones mostly in shadier forest or areas close to fiddleheads, wild leek, nettles usually near waterways. I think Orpine’s relative (Rose-root) only goes as far west as eastern Lake Erie, it to is a great healthy plant to know.
      Oh, you can transplant Orpine by placing a few stems in the ground as they will generate new tubers or you can break a few tubers off from the main plant and replant elsewhere. Along with adding the leaves to salads they also hold up well in stir-frys. The tubers are edible as well. cheers for now.

  4. Food Follower March 24, 2012 at 4:00 pm #

    The second photo almost looks like small artichokes! Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

    • 1left March 24, 2012 at 4:44 pm #

      True food follower, the color and shape of young emerging (live-forever)
      do resemble globe artichoke quite a bit. good eye.

  5. Hanuman Dass March 25, 2012 at 9:11 pm #

    Enjoying all the photos. I share an interest in greenery as well. Nowhere near your caliber, but the love is there none the less.

    I’m going to contact you about an ID of a pretty common weed around these parts. Let us know where to send inquiries!

    Great blog!

    HD

    • 1left March 25, 2012 at 10:23 pm #

      Welcome and thanks HD, I’m enjoying your blog, I find you point to the essential in a clear direct way. I’ll have an email address open early this week. cheers for now

Leave a Reply

